MontagneTicinesi.ch

Piz Greina



Information

Date: 11 September 2023
Maximum height: 3123 m
Difference in height: 1360 m
Length: 14.8 km
Kilometers effort: 32.9 kmef
Duration: 9 hours and 45 minutes
Huts reached: Capanna Scaletta

Difficulties (automatic translation in english)

SAC-CAS hiking scale From Pian Geirett to the altitude of 2470 metres in the valley that rises to Piz Vial.
SAC-CAS hiking scale From the altitude of 2470 metres to the altitude of approximately 2800 metres.
SAC-CAS hiking scale From the altitude of 2800 metres up to about 2900 metres.
SAC-CAS hiking scale From the altitude of 2900 metres to the summit of Piz Greina (with some grade I climbing, especially in the last few metres before the summit).

Comment (automatic translation in english)

After having been on Piz Vial last year, this year I am returning to the same area but to climb the nearby Piz Greina. Since the route followed is almost the same as last time, except for the last half kilometre, I will not go into too much detail on the first part of the trip. For a more detailed description of the ascent to an altitude of 2960 metres, I therefore recommend reading the description of Piz Vial in 2022.
Like last year, this time I begin by reaching Pian Geirett in Val Camadra, from where I start walking towards the Passo della Greina. Once over it, I continue along the path to the Capanna Terri and then enter the valley that climbs towards Piz Vial. I walk up it to the small lake at an altitude of 2737 metres and continue until I reach an altitude of 2960 metres. At that point I abandon the route I had followed last year and head towards the south-west ridge of Piz Greina. Towards altitude 2990 metres there is an easy passage that allows you to cross it. On the other side there are two possible routes: either climb the ridge immediately, finding several large rocks, or continue for 50 metres south-eastwards and then climb up a slope with smaller but more unstable rocks. I choose the latter route for the ascent while I will follow the more westerly route on the return. In this way I arrive on the west ridge of Piz Greina at an altitude of 3106 metres. I then head towards the summit without encountering any particular problems. It is only in the last 30 metres that there are some slightly exposed passages that reach grade I climbing.
In this way I reach the summit where I find a small stone cairn with a small wooden cross above it. The view of the Piano della Greina is spectacular and this is perhaps one of the best places from which to admire it.
For the return I follow the same route as on the outward journey except, as mentioned earlier, the descent of the south-west ridge of Piz Greina where I stay more to the right. Before returning to Pian Geirett, where this trip will end, I also take a look at the Capanna Scaletta, which I had not seen in the morning.

Water (automatic translation in english)

There are a few streams near Pian Geirett and then the Rein da Sumvitg in the valley down from Piz Vial. At the Capanna Scaletta there is a fountain, but the water is not drinkable.



Leave your name/nickname *


Leave your message *

* Required fields

Comments (0)

Go back

Sentiero che sale al Passo della Greina

  • Sentiero che sale al Passo della Greina
  • Sentiero che porta al Passo della Greina
  • Sentiero che porta alla Capanna Terri
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina (con tracciato)
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina (con tracciato)
  • Laghetto a quota 2737 metri
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina (con tracciato)
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Piz Greina
  • Piz Greina
  • Piz Greina
  • Cima del Piz Greina
  • Via di discesa dal Piz Greina
  • Via di discesa dal Piz Greina
  • Via di discesa dal Piz Greina
  • Via di discesa dal Piz Greina
  • Via di discesa dal Piz Greina
  • Capanna Scaletta

MontagneTicinesi.ch

Piz Greina



Informations

Date: 11 septembre 2023
Altitude Maximum: 3123 m
Dénivelé: 1360 m
Longueur: 14.8 km
Kilomètres Effort: 32.9 kmef
Durée: 9 heures et 45 minutes
Cabanes atteintes: Capanna Scaletta

Difficultés (traduction automatique en français)

Echelles de difficultés du CAS Du Pian Geirett à l'altitude de 2470 mètres dans la vallée qui mène au Piz Vial.
Echelles de difficultés du CAS De l'altitude de 2470 mètres à l'altitude d'environ 2800 mètres.
Echelles de difficultés du CAS De l'altitude de 2800 mètres à environ 2900 mètres.
Echelles de difficultés du CAS Depuis l'altitude de 2900 mètres jusqu'au sommet du Piz Greina (avec un peu d'escalade de niveau I, surtout dans les derniers mètres avant le sommet).

Commentaire (traduction automatique en français)

Après avoir fait le Piz Vial l'année dernière, je retourne cette année dans la même région mais pour faire l'ascension du Piz Greina tout proche. Comme l'itinéraire suivi est presque le même que la dernière fois, à l'exception du dernier demi-kilomètre, je ne m'attarderai pas trop sur la première partie de l'excursion. Pour une description plus détaillée de la montée jusqu'à 2960 mètres, je recommande donc de lire la description du Piz Vial de 2022.
Comme l'année dernière, je commence par atteindre le Pian Geirett dans le Val Camadra, d'où je me dirige vers le Passo della Greina. Une fois franchi, je poursuis le sentier jusqu'à la Capanna Terri, puis j'entre dans la vallée qui monte vers le Piz Vial. Je la remonte jusqu'au petit lac situé à 2737 mètres d'altitude et je continue jusqu'à 2960 mètres d'altitude. À ce moment-là, j'abandonne l'itinéraire que j'avais suivi l'année dernière et je me dirige vers l'arête sud-ouest du Piz Greina. Vers 2990 mètres d'altitude, il y a un passage facile qui permet de la traverser. De l'autre côté, il y a deux itinéraires possibles : soit monter immédiatement sur l'arête, en trouvant plusieurs gros rochers, soit continuer sur 50 mètres vers le sud-est et monter ensuite sur une pente avec des rochers plus petits mais plus instables. Je choisis cette dernière voie pour l'ascension, tandis que je suivrai la voie la plus à l'ouest pour le retour. J'arrive ainsi sur l'arête ouest du Piz Greina à 3106 mètres d'altitude. Je me dirige ensuite vers le sommet sans rencontrer de problèmes particuliers. Ce n'est que dans les 30 derniers mètres qu'il y a des passages légèrement exposés qui atteignent le degré I d'escalade.
J'arrive ainsi au sommet où je trouve un petit cairn de pierre surmonté d'une petite croix en bois. La vue sur le Piano della Greina est spectaculaire et c'est peut-être l'un des meilleurs endroits pour l'admirer.
Pour le retour, je suis le même itinéraire qu'à l'aller, à l'exception, comme indiqué précédemment, de la descente de l'arête sud-ouest du Piz Greina, où je reste plus à droite. Avant de retourner au Pian Geirett, où se terminera cette excursion, je jette également un coup d'œil à la Capanna Scaletta, que je n'avais pas vue le matin.

Eau (traduction automatique en français)

Il y a quelques ruisseaux près de Pian Geirett et ensuite le Rein da Sumvitg dans la vallée qui descend du Piz Vial. À la Capanna Scaletta, il y a une fontaine, mais l'eau n'est pas potable.



Laissez votre nom/nickname *


Laissez votre message *

* Champs obligatoires

Commentaires (0)

Retourner

Sentiero che sale al Passo della Greina

  • Sentiero che sale al Passo della Greina
  • Sentiero che porta al Passo della Greina
  • Sentiero che porta alla Capanna Terri
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina (con tracciato)
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina (con tracciato)
  • Laghetto a quota 2737 metri
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina (con tracciato)
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Via di salita al Piz Greina
  • Piz Greina
  • Piz Greina
  • Piz Greina
  • Cima del Piz Greina
  • Via di discesa dal Piz Greina
  • Via di discesa dal Piz Greina
  • Via di discesa dal Piz Greina
  • Via di discesa dal Piz Greina
  • Via di discesa dal Piz Greina
  • Capanna Scaletta